All about M.E…

Hi everyone, today I’m talking about my past, what’s made me who I am what I want to achieve.

When I was 13 I was diagnosed with the deliberating illness M.E also known as chronic fatigue syndrome.

My passion from the age I could walk and talk was always fashion, every day I would sketch outfits out and flick through the latest magazines admiring the collections. My dream was always to work for a fashion house or have my own handbag collection.

When I fell ill I was unable to do school full time, I cut my GCSE’s down to 5 and focused on the qualifications I knew I needed to get into college. I managed to secure an A in art and design and A-B in maths English and science.

Throughout college I was very poorly, in and out of hospital every term. I cut my A levels down to two and passed them both with flying colours.

The doctors advised me that I was too ill to attend university however I Knew If I wanted to succeed in fashion I would need a degree. Throughout university I was in and out of hospital and extremely weak, I had a note taker to help me when I was unable to attend lectures. My joints were so painful I was in a wheel chair for several months.

I managed to secure a 1st class degree in fashion business in the hope this would secure my dream of owning my own handbag collection.

Since university I have styled my own photo shoots, secured a role in marketing and worked with Elle and Red magazine. I would say I have had a good dose of health for around two years.

However, I still stuffer with terrible migraines, I’m on daily medication for this and I get incredibly tired. This is hugely effecting my job as my absent days are totalling up.

Three years ago I was given a medication from a neurologist who advised these would stop my migraines, I reacted very badly and went blind for two weeks, a miracle happened and it came back, this really opened my eyes (no pun intended) to always follow my dreams and make sure I live every day to its fullest.

I want more than anything to start my own business but due to my low salary saving each month hasn’t been an option, therefore I’m in a save save save mode! I know that nothing in life is easy but I know if I keep pushing myself I will eventually get there…..watch this space. 

About laura Arrowsmith

Chocolate fanatic, pathetically soppy and an all round over thinker. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my little blog! come and say hello by emailing me of following me on the below.... laura.arrowsmith@Hotmail.com instagram- laura_arrowsmith lots of love xoxo :)
This entry was posted in Canal boat, barge boat, English countryside, fashion, art, photoshoot, photography, travel, design,, Fashion, love, food, photoshoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

