Fighting the fat…

What is perfection? Having a thigh gap? Having a great job, having thousands of Instagram followers?We live in a society today where image is everything, but is it. Are we growing up in culture that promotes self-worth through your waist size, the number on the scales and how much protein you consumed that day.

What I want to be is confident in my own skin and find that personal self-respect.

A year ago I was put on a medication to control my migraines and without being told of the weight gain side effects 2 stone crept up on me!

Yep two hefty stone, My confident plummeted , but my dress size amplified. There’s also only so many times you can delay your boyfriend booking a holiday because you don’t want to be seen in a bikini.

Everyday I’m bombarded with social media images of beautiful girls with abs and the perfect skin complexion, I could choose not to look but I’m absorbed by their beauty and how I want to be like them. 

But why do I want it so badly? Is it for myself or is it so others find me more aesthetically pleasing?

I think it’s a bit of both, I work in the fashion industry and it is fickle, I also get to see behind the camera how much retouching and editing takes place, and it’s a lot. But why does it matter if a model is seen with cellulite or crow’s feet. Does it really damage a brand that much that it is seen as destroying. 

The media has made us feel like we always need more, we always need to be better, we need upgrades.

But that shouldn’t be the case, the fact of the matter is, if you’re happy in your own skin you’ll always be content. Happy that what you have been blessed with is enough, that your happiness doesn’t revolve around the numbers in your bank account or  the number on the scales. Who you are is beautiful. 

Xoxo
 

About laura Arrowsmith

Chocolate fanatic, pathetically soppy and an all round over thinker. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my little blog! come and say hello by emailing me of following me on the below.... laura.arrowsmith@Hotmail.com instagram- laura_arrowsmith lots of love xoxo :)
This entry was posted in Canal boat, barge boat, English countryside, fashion, art, photoshoot, photography, travel, design, and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fighting the fat…

Leave a Reply

